Thread: MAC Address Hoax

P2P Client
    RM+WM
    Activity Longevity
    0/20 17/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 sssssss43

Smile MAC Address Hoax

First of all, I am a newbie here though I am using Ratio tools regularly for over one year. I joined earlier but could not be here since stuffs came up.

Well, I am noticed a lot posts about MAC address changing and spoofing. Here's something I should tell you, It's not possible to get any site (except your localhost for Network Admins or ISP) to know your MAC Address WITHOUT explicit Java applets (or JavaScripts in IE) allowing to run. Do not get confused with JavaScript. Even using Java you would need to allow to run the applet manually, because to digitally sign such an applet they would need to shell out a lot dough.

Using JavaScript (except IE) and Flash CANNOT exploit this, only Java can do this for a third-party site to check your MAC. As per I know, no tracker, Public or Private is using Java (Cannot say the same for JavaScript) to get your MAC, so you are safe (supposed you don't have malwares running that blocks checking the Java applets).

Still, don't forget if you are not using a properly configured router (or don't have one, then it will be still possible to get your MAC scanning your IP (Unless your firewall blocks the port scanning, remember this with BitMe and BitmeTV).

In Brief, Block Java, Use a good firewall, block ActiveX and JavaScript in IE.Using router will change the default MAC of your Network Card if you choose such settings.

Also, the following articles will provide some of your needs:

MAC address - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

However, MAC address spoofing is limited to the local broadcast domain.

MAC Address Using WMI on Internet Explorer -> MAC Address Using WMI on Internet Explorer

This article helps you in finding the MAC address of a client machine on IE using WMI Library.

If you like this post, why not say something? Even if you hate it, say that!