Thread: BitTorrent v2

P2P Client
    What ?! That's Private!
    Activity Longevity
    3/20 16/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss505

BitTorrent v2

Just after I finished implantation of simple Java tracker.

https://blog.libtorrent.org/2020/09/bittorrent-v2/

libtorrent-2.0 has just been released with a few major new features. One of them is support for BitTorrent v2.

Most of the specification work of BEP 52 was done by the8472. The libtorrent support for bittorrent v2 was mostly implemented by Steven Siloti. BiglyBT also has an implementation of BitTorrent v2 to be released in the near future.
    Interesting !
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

P2P Client
    BiglyBT
    Activity Longevity
    0/20 6/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss254
    Noob here...Where v2 is better than v1? or which issues under v1, v2 is trying to solve? Google says it's efficiency asscioated improvements eg. torrent file size, and hashing algorithm changes. Anything else big change? At v1 now, upload and download statistics of a peer rely on reporting of its own, whcih makes cheating relatively easy. do v2 improve on this?
    Thanks

3. Who Said Thanks:

illusive (11.09.20)

Activity Longevity
    11/20 19/20
    Today Posts
    5/5 ssss39386
    Quote Originally Posted by illusive View Post
    Just after I finished implantation of simple Java tracker.
    And just after I wrote this post

Quote Originally Posted by anon View Post
    ...it's nice that BitTorrent was designed to be extensible through enhancement proposals like this, it shows foresight (and learning from the mistakes of then-contemporary alternatives). The use of bencoding and SHA-1 does remind us this protocol is nearly two decades old, though...