+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
Results 106 to 120 of 125

Thread: Joal-Desktop (Windows / Linux / Mac)

    1. Joal-Desktop (Windows / Linux / Mac) Details »»

      Joal-Desktop (Windows / Linux / Mac)

      Version: , by (Guest Coder) anthony-joal is offline

      Developer Last Online: Feb 2020 Show Printable Version Email this Page
      Rating:  Downloads: 0
      Released: 17.09.17 Last Update: 20.09.17 Installs: 22
      • Supported
      • Re-useable Code
      • Free for all
      • Translations

      What is Joal-Desktop
      Joal-Dekstop is somehow a ratio master, the "desktop" version works though a graphical user interface (pictures available at the bottom of this post).
      I initially developped JOAL because i was bored of the .NET framework requirement and i wanted to have a ratio-faker that could work on every OS.



      How JOAL compares with other tools
      JOAL RatioMaster Plus mRatio
      OS Windows / Linux / Mac Windows Windows
      Multi-torrent Yes Yes Yes
      Configuration Simple as hell Hard Simple
      Memory reader No Yes Yes
      App updates Automatic on Windows Download needed Download needed
      Clients file updates Automatic Download needed Download needed
      Proxy compliant No Yes Yes
      Multiple language No Yes Yes
      Headless server app Yes No No

      Don't get me wrong, i'm not saying JOAL is better than other tools around here. It does not cover the same needs. JOAL is focused in providing a simple user experience with multi-os support. It will fit your need if you want to get started with cheating your ratio or if get yourself lost in configuring other tools, but if you are an advanced user (or a developper) you'll find much more configuration opportunities in mRatio or RatioMaster.


      How to use it safely
      1. Start the app.
      2. Wait for updates to be checked.
      3. Change the configuration (if needed).
      4. Drag and drop torrents.
      5. Voila!
      6. Click on "stop" before closing the app.

      Some tips you need to know to use joal properly:
      Do not use JOAL when your real torrent client is started.
      Try not to froget to press the "STOP" button before closing the app.
      Always download torrents in your regular client before adding them into JOAL.


      Where do i download it
      Download it here

      On Windows app is auto-updated when you start it.
      On Linux app is auto-updated when you start it.
      On OSX updates must be downloaded manually (because a god damn signing certificate cost $300 a year...)

      Preview
      Attachment 18276

      Attachment 18277

      If you like the project consider adding a star to the repository : https://github.com/anthonyraymond/joal-desktop (on the top-right).

      Show Your Support

        -->
      • For saying thanks to the author, please click here.
      • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

    Who Said Thanks:

    wolf (16.02.20) , wy188cm (15.10.19) , Raptus (14.10.19) , pedrothelion (03.10.19) , The Dark Knight (09.09.19) , mammamia11 (06.08.19) , handicapped (10.06.19) , CurrentlyDizzy (29.04.19) , Butuca (04.02.19) , Marvelboy (29.01.19) , Alex Li (24.01.19) , ungodly (06.01.19) , bupzepoxi (05.01.19) , bloodpain (20.10.18) , Sayukat (01.10.18) , freeparty94 (19.07.18) , (03.05.18) , sPectre (03.05.18) , Dynamic (20.04.18) , Ilic (18.04.18) , ilneroviaggiatore (21.01.18) , Yale (02.01.18) , alisters91 (29.12.17) , miunes (18.12.17) , darkseb (09.12.17) , piratepiggy (03.12.17) , Warlock (01.12.17) , techsupport (24.10.17) , leeechy (19.10.17) , rdardini (15.10.17) , just4cheat (14.10.17) , gnome9er (13.10.17) , ozymandis (10.10.17) , dereaper (08.10.17) , DarkSaibot v.1.3.10 (29.09.17) , czullo (25.09.17) , Vevonico123 (22.09.17) , RaulCla (21.09.17) , godtorrent (20.09.17) , adamindibi (19.09.17) , cloud99 (19.09.17) , Lucius (18.09.17) , alpacino (18.09.17) , Sazzy (17.09.17) , illusive (17.09.17) , zora (17.09.17) , RaMa (17.09.17) , JRDi69 (17.09.17) , crystal (17.09.17) , josecarmona (17.09.17) , H265 (17.09.17) , anon (17.09.17)


  1. #107
    Member H265's Avatar
    Join Date
    26.05.13
    Location
    Tengoku
    P2P Client
    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    Posts
    323
    Activity Longevity
    6/20 11/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssssss323
    Quote Originally Posted by anthony-joal View Post
    @H265 hello,

    When joal fails to announce multiple times in a raw it moves the torrents to the archive folder.

    When th etorrtents does not appears on the tracker, are th torrents files still in joal-conf/torrents or have they been moved automatically to joal-conf/torrents/archived?
    i'm on xubuntu. where can i find the installed files of joal? i used the appimage file to run joal. Is it possible to tell joal to keep checking if the internet is connected properly every x mins?
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  2. #108
    Guest Coder anthony-joal's Avatar
    Join Date
    22.03.17
    Location
    France
    P2P Client
    qBittorrent
    Posts
    168
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 5/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss168
    I don't really understand how AppImage works internally, it's just a convenient way of releasing Linux-ish version of Joal.
    If you are looking for the torrents and the joal-core binary you wil find them in : ~/.config/JoalDesktop/joal-core/

    Unfortunatelly there is no way to tweak the system to prevent joal from removing the torrents if it faisl to announce multiple times in a raw nor there is one to re-add the removed torrent automatically
    This is my signature. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  3. #109

    Join Date
    02.10.19
    Location
    Italy
    P2P Client
    uTorrent
    Posts
    2
    Activity Longevity
    0/20 1/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssssss2
    Hello, Can I please have torrent client for - µTorrent 2.x?
    Last edited by pedrothelion; 03.10.19 at 00:58.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  4. #110

    Join Date
    14.10.19
    Location
    France
    P2P Client
    Deluge
    Posts
    1
    Activity Longevity
    0/20 1/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssssss1

    JoalDesktop with Mac OS Catalina (1015)

    Hello, I just installed JoalDesktop on my mac OS Catalina (1015)
    The program opens correctly

    When I go to my torrents downloads account to see my ratio I do not see any dramatic change.

    The settings are 30/170/20 (seed simulator)
    I use Deluge 1.3.15

    Do I miss something ?

    Again thanks you because I did not managed to install RatioMaster and I finally found JoalDesktop. Capture d’écran 2019-10-14 à 16.02.34.png
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  5. #111
    Hi Anthony, Thank you so much for your efforts on building this tool. Especially given that we can use it for MAC, there aren't many that work with mac. As for your decision to keep the basic settings and simple to use its perfectly alright. One can't expect every tool to do everything for everyone. This is great work.

    I have just 1 query. I know you have explicitly called out that original client and Joal shouldn't be running together. Would you advice the same thing even if the torrent files in Joal and Original client are different ?

    The reason I ask this is everytime I need to download something for real, I would want to remember to stop and close Joal and then vice versa.

    Eitherways, thanks again, I hope trackers don't detect it.
    Last edited by colousit; 27.12.19 at 04:59.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  6. Who Said Thanks:

    anthony-joal (01.01.20)

  7. #112
    Moderator anon's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.02.08
    Posts
    35,969
    Activity Longevity
    12/20 19/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssss35969
    Quote Originally Posted by colousit View Post
    I have just 1 query. I know you have explicitly called out that original client and Joal shouldn't be running together. Would you advice the same thing even if the torrent files in Joal and Original client are different ?
    Likely yes, since even if the client you're using (and emulating in JOAL) uses an individual peer_id and key, the port number will differ.

    Note that you can run both programs at the same; most trackers won't even notice, plus there are legitimate reasons to seed from multiple clients in the same computer. It's just not recommended, because as a cheater you want to blend in, not stand out.
    "Come visit sometime, okay? We'll always be here for you. We... we all love you."
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  8. Who Said Thanks:

    anthony-joal (01.01.20) , colousit (28.12.19)

  9. #113
    I noticed an aberration when checking for active torrents on a tracker. There was duplicate entries on same torrent from different IPs. i.e. all of the torrents that I was seeding were showing twice. As soon as I realzed I stopped the seeding. I didn't notice it earlier. Not sure what must have happened.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  10. #114
    Moderator anon's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.02.08
    Posts
    35,969
    Activity Longevity
    12/20 19/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssss35969
    An aberration

    Any chances your IP simply changed in the middle of the session? I once wrote a script that runs in the background and warns you when that happens.

    Attachment 16830
    "Come visit sometime, okay? We'll always be here for you. We... we all love you."
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  11. Who Said Thanks:

    colousit (30.12.19)

  12. #115
    I doubt if my IP changed. After I resumed seeding it picked up correct IP and duplication was no longer visible.
    Also I suppose, if IP changes, it would change for last few digits. This was a very different IP altogether.

    The IP change link is Windows only Days of Windows were so nice.
    Last edited by colousit; 30.12.19 at 08:34.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  13. #116
    Moderator anon's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.02.08
    Posts
    35,969
    Activity Longevity
    12/20 19/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssss35969
    Quote Originally Posted by colousit View Post
    The IP change link is Windows only Days of Windows were so nice.
    You wanted Mac, now deal with it
    "Come visit sometime, okay? We'll always be here for you. We... we all love you."
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  14. Who Said Thanks:

    colousit (05.01.20) , anthony-joal (01.01.20)

  15. #117
    Guest Coder anthony-joal's Avatar
    Join Date
    22.03.17
    Location
    France
    P2P Client
    qBittorrent
    Posts
    168
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 5/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss168
    Hi colousit thanks for your feedback :)

    The double / seed is indeed weird. Anon's should be right, the tracker may have registered two differents IPs. I'd lik to mention that the IP can change completly between two attributions it's not just a matter of one or two digits nor it is of range (event if there is some kind of a range but....).
    One can have 2.15.45.32 and claim another IP two sec latter an end up with 96.48.128.205.
    This is my signature. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  16. Who Said Thanks:

    colousit (05.01.20)

  17. #118
    Dadadudu

    Thumbs up

    This is such a ridiculously well made tool! I've been using the CLI version for a while now. I use it on my seedbox when I don't want to keep several 100 GB torrent files real-seeding and taking space. Good job!
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote

  18. Who Said Thanks:

    anthony-joal (20.01.20)

  19. #119
    Moderator anon's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.02.08
    Posts
    35,969
    Activity Longevity
    12/20 19/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssss35969
    Quote Originally Posted by anthony-joal View Post
    I'd lik to mention that the IP can change completly between two attributions it's not just a matter of one or two digits nor it is of range (event if there is some kind of a range but....).
    One can have 2.15.45.32 and claim another IP two sec latter an end up with 96.48.128.205.
    This script should output all IPv4 address blocks owned by your ISP. It's simple enough to probably work on the Mac OS terminal too.

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    IP=$(wget -q -O - http://ipcheck1.jdownloader.org/)
    AS=$(wget -q -O - https://ipinfo.io/$IP/org | cut -f 1 -d " ")
    wget -q -O - https://stat.ripe.net/data/announced-prefixes/data.yaml?min_peers_seeing=0&resource=$AS | grep prefix\: | grep -v \:\: | awk '{print $3}'
    "Come visit sometime, okay? We'll always be here for you. We... we all love you."
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  20. Who Said Thanks:

    Lucius (25.01.20) , anthony-joal (20.01.20) , colousit (05.01.20)

  21. #120
    Advanced User alpacino's Avatar
    Join Date
    19.03.09
    Location
    locked in Alchemilla Hospital
    P2P Client
    none, just the toolz
    Posts
    1,951
    Activity Longevity
    3/20 17/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 sssss1951
    Hello, my torrents are getting all archived after a while. I suppose it's because announcing is failing. My area has a lot of power surges and internet blackouts lately. Can you make an option in the app to change this behavior? This is relly frustrating.
    it's hip to be square
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  22. Who Said Thanks:

    anthony-joal (25.01.20)

  23. #121
    Guest Coder anthony-joal's Avatar
    Join Date
    22.03.17
    Location
    France
    P2P Client
    qBittorrent
    Posts
    168
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 5/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss168
    Quote Originally Posted by alpacino View Post
    Hello, my torrents are getting all archived after a while. I suppose it's because announcing is failing. My area has a lot of power surges and internet blackouts lately. Can you make an option in the app to change this behavior? This is relly frustrating.
    Hello,
    I'm curently rewriting the whole project in another language, the feature you asks is already implemented in this new version, torrents won't go away on errors out network failures, they'll be set a zero speed until a successfull announce occurs again.
    But i'm not quite done yet, i expect the new version to be out in the next few months.
    This is my signature. There are many others like it, but this one is mine.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  24. Who Said Thanks:

    Mooxi (15.02.20) , alpacino (28.01.20) , colousit (27.01.20) , H265 (26.01.20)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •