Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: DMT (DSL-Modem Tool) for aDSL line, modem management and advanced tweaking

  1. #1
    Member Vation's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.01.10
    Location
    uncertain
    P2P Client
    several
    Posts
    559
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 13/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss559

    DMT (DSL-Modem freeware Tool) for aDSL line, modem management and advanced tweaking

    So many angry ADSL users, so many germans here. German made DSL modem tool should fit in here.
    But what is DSL-Modem Tool and why do i need it?
    It is tool that can view connection statistics, check line speed capabilities, manage modem/router and tweak some routers settings.
    Many models are supported also many tweaks are available( for BCM63xx chipsets especially, I've managed to speed up connection at crappy line by 90% from 512 kbps to over 900 kbps is something by noisemargin tweak)

    There are versions 1.xx to 9.xx. Don't go for 9.xx there are different version numbers for different hardware, not every modem in the world is supported, just check your modem type/router chipset.

    DMT (DSL-Modem Tool) site in masters language (forgive me I've sinned by saying that, joke):
    DMT (DSL-Modem Tool)

    DMT (DSL-Modem Tool) in English powered by Google:
    Google Translate

    About is worth looking at to taste that demo scene flavor.
    BTW: Thanks to anon and yoco for ADSL story that reminded me my story with that program.
    Last edited by Vation; 07.10.10 at 12:49.
    Vation
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  2. Who Said Thanks:

    BrianBosworth (07.10.10) , yoco (07.10.10) , desodorante (05.10.10)

  3. #2
    Member Vation's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.01.10
    Location
    uncertain
    P2P Client
    several
    Posts
    559
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 13/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss559
    I think i should have added it earlier it is FREEWARE.
    Some people are still in trauma after contact with cFos Software which is paid crap.
    Last edited by Vation; 07.10.10 at 12:50.
    Vation
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  4. #3
    Advanced User yoco's Avatar
    Join Date
    23.02.08
    Location
    Slovenia
    P2P Client
    Azureus
    Posts
    5,900
    Activity Longevity
    10/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 sssss5900
    Hey! I actually still use cfospeed! You think software of yours is better?
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  5. #4
    Moderator anon's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.02.08
    Posts
    30,211
    Activity Longevity
    7/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssss30211
    I have a Cable line, so I don't think this program will work for me.

    By the way, what use do you have for cFosSpeed? I once checked that program out and it looked like NetLimiter on steroids.
    "That door is open. What do you want to do with your key?" -- ADOM 1.1.1
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  6. #5
    Advanced User yoco's Avatar
    Join Date
    23.02.08
    Location
    Slovenia
    P2P Client
    Azureus
    Posts
    5,900
    Activity Longevity
    10/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 sssss5900
    Well I'm using it for years now. I think it helps you browse faster when downloading and reduces ping, something like that. But what I really like is that it shows you your current speed!
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  7. #6
    Member Vation's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.01.10
    Location
    uncertain
    P2P Client
    several
    Posts
    559
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 13/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss559
    Quote Originally Posted by yoco View Post
    Well I'm using it for years now. I think it helps you browse faster when downloading and reduces ping, something like that. But what I really like is that it shows you your current speed!
    shows you your current speed! - so DMT does
    yoco you use modem or router - look at compatibility list or paste here?
    Vation
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  8. #7
    Advanced User yoco's Avatar
    Join Date
    23.02.08
    Location
    Slovenia
    P2P Client
    Azureus
    Posts
    5,900
    Activity Longevity
    10/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 sssss5900
    How can I do that?
    I wanted to ask this before, how can I see which modem or router I have?
    Last edited by yoco; 07.10.10 at 18:14.
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  9. #8
    Moderator anon's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.02.08
    Posts
    30,211
    Activity Longevity
    7/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssss30211
    Quote Originally Posted by yoco View Post
    How can I do that?
    I wanted to ask this before, how can I see which modem or router I have?
    Try there URLs:
    http://192.168.1.1/ - usually your router's frontend
    http://192.168.100.1/ - shows me information from my WebSTAR cablemodem
    "That door is open. What do you want to do with your key?" -- ADOM 1.1.1
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  10. #9
    Advanced User yoco's Avatar
    Join Date
    23.02.08
    Location
    Slovenia
    P2P Client
    Azureus
    Posts
    5,900
    Activity Longevity
    10/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 sssss5900
    Both links don't work. Doesn't open!
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  11. #10
    Moderator anon's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.02.08
    Posts
    30,211
    Activity Longevity
    7/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    1/5 ssss30211
    Well, you can always grab your router and modem, turn them upside down and see what the label on the bottom says.
    "That door is open. What do you want to do with your key?" -- ADOM 1.1.1
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  12. Who Said Thanks:

    Vation (08.10.10)

  13. #11
    Member Vation's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.01.10
    Location
    uncertain
    P2P Client
    several
    Posts
    559
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 13/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss559
    Look where USB/ethernet cable leads you and read what is on the box.
    Or look at gateway setting in IP setting - Gateway IP starts from 192.168 or 10. or 172.
    Win 7/VistaNetwork and Sharing Center>Change Adapter details>Right Click on Active Adapter>
    Status Details:Gateway IP...
    Last edited by Vation; 07.10.10 at 23:12.
    Vation
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  14. #12
    Advanced User yoco's Avatar
    Join Date
    23.02.08
    Location
    Slovenia
    P2P Client
    Azureus
    Posts
    5,900
    Activity Longevity
    10/20 18/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 sssss5900
    So I guess this is my modem: EMX-NT1
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  15. Who Said Thanks:

    Vation (08.10.10)

  16. #13
    Member Vation's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.01.10
    Location
    uncertain
    P2P Client
    several
    Posts
    559
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 13/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss559

    EMX-NT1

    So what we know now about the modem.
    It is made/branded by Slovenian company IPS IPS d.o.o.
    I am not sure if it looks cool(however it was designed in 2004 or before)


    It has one 10BaseT Ethernet port with basic routing capabilities
    http://img.slidefinder.net/imagegeth...=421293&size=2

    It is at capable of handling up to nearly 2Mibps(1984kbit/s) SHDSL connection(symmetrical subscribers line bitratre 1984 kbit/s with SHDSL line bitrate 2304 kbit/s)

    SHDSL line reach(speed depens on line quality/lenght)
    http://img.slidefinder.net/imagegeth...=421298&size=2

    For more SHDSL details visit:
    Single-pair high-speed digital subscriber line - Wikipedia

    EMX-NT1 address could be:
    http://192.168.0.1/

    or if there is no DHCP service ip would be form private Microsoft IP pool: 169.254.?.?

    To check your local IP address
    1 press Win+R
    2 type cmd and press enter
    3 type ipconfig and press enter
    4 look for Ethernet adapter and check IP address and gateway IP address

    but it may not work:
    http://gamers.ba/forum/7/112132/defa...eway-problem-/

    or we can try something like:
    First contact with the Modem

    offtop - Slovenian humor:
    http://static.slo-tech.com/27409.jpg

    EDIT:
    Maybe this program (little chance) will provide EMX-NT1 modem info:
    http://www.webtemp.org/download.php?f=sm50b.zip
    Last edited by Vation; 08.10.10 at 15:14.
    Vation
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  17. Who Said Thanks:

    yoco (08.10.10)

  18. #14
    desodorante's Avatar
    Join Date
    01.10.08
    Location
    Drexciya
    P2P Client
    SBI Toxic
    Posts
    265
    Activity Longevity
    0/20 17/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss265
    Quote Originally Posted by anon View Post
    Try there URLs:
    http://192.168.1.1/ - usually your router's frontend
    http://192.168.100.1/ - shows me information from my WebSTAR cablemodem
    It should be 192.168.0.1 as Vation said.
    I once tried CFosSpeed (I still can't understand why). Ended up with a semi-uninstalled driver/service hijacking my connection. It was a total mess.
    Vation, is there an english version of this soft?
    I have a router-modem connected to a router...will this work?
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

  19. Who Said Thanks:

    Vation (08.10.10)

  20. #15
    Member Vation's Avatar
    Join Date
    09.01.10
    Location
    uncertain
    P2P Client
    several
    Posts
    559
    Activity Longevity
    1/20 13/20
    Today Posts
    0/5 ssssss559
    Quote Originally Posted by yoco View Post
    Hey! I actually still use cfospeed! You think software of yours is better?
    cfospeed is most probably not affecting your modem since you are connected via Ethernet with it. It gives you any modem info or anything? - I doubt. You may uninstall it to check if your connection would work faster without it!

    edit:
    Abolutely agree with desodorante about CFosSpeed crapyness, just thought it is a crap at the same moment he did.

    edit2:
    desodorante what is your modem brand/model? This soft i linked for yoco may or most likely will not work only for shdsl emx modem and it's interface is English.

    edit3:
    DMT is in English language, routing should not be a great problem.
    Last edited by Vation; 08.10.10 at 16:53.
    Vation
    Reply With QuoteReply With Quote
    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121