PDA

View Full Version : which linux is for recommendation?

xixifrank
12.04.09, 13:57
ubuntu,fedora,opensuse. or some others?

:confused:

stripperu
12.04.09, 16:14
i think that fedora is the best linux

anon
12.04.09, 17:35
If you're new to Linux, I'd recommend Ubuntu.

xixifrank
12.04.09, 18:57
@anon:
yes,I am new to linux. and is Xubuntu the same as ubuntu? CUZ there is something wrong with my PC,i have to use the one bought 6 years ago which only has 256MB memory..
so only Xubuntu can be run easily on it..

anon
12.04.09, 18:58
@anon:
yes,I am new to linux. and is Xubuntu the same as ubuntu?

Ubuntu is the "vanilla" distribution. Xubuntu uses the Xfce desktop manager, which doesn't use as much resources.

6000th post :biggrin:

splicer
12.04.09, 19:07
I too am definitely wanting to try out Linux, but the sheer amount of distros that exist probably turn most potential users away. My friend's EEE came with Ubuntu, but I've always had my mind set on Debian.

The cost of developing Debian 4.0 etch, assuming paid programmers from a single organization and based on source lines of code, has been estimated to be close to US$13,000,000,000.
Source: Debian - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Debian_GNU/Linux)

xixifrank
13.04.09, 18:56
what about KDE and GNOME. cuz they pay more attention to GUI than CLI.
I'm new to linux,maybe need some time to be used to it, so, more GUI can let me feel I'm using Win or Mac...

splicer
13.04.09, 19:30
KDE and GNOME aren't Linux distros as such, just desktop environments. You'll definitely need to read up on how to use Linux and Unix Like operating systems at a very basic level - installing programs, compiling as well as commands, as Linux is VERY different to Windows.

Mutter
13.04.09, 20:32
Linux Mint.
Based on Ubuntu but all needed codecs already installed...

splicer
13.04.09, 21:50
Linux Mint.
Based on Ubuntu but all needed codecs already installed...